There are some critical dates to be aware of to avoid losing information unexpectedly. However if you decide to cancel, keep in mind the default is for storage plans to automatically renew at the end of the subscription term. Any charges beyond your available credit will be charged to your credit card. Google storage plan purchases are non-refundable.
The amount of storage you purchased is yours for the length of the subscription, even if you decide to cancel it. The information below if from Google’s site. Shown below is only a portion of the information available. Click on the button below to learn more.
If you cancel your storage plan or when your storage plan expires, your storage limits will reset to the free levels for each product at the end of your billing cycle. If you reach or exceed the free storage limit:
- Gmail: You won’t be able to send or receive messages. Messages sent to you will be returned to the sender.
- Starting June 1, 2021: If you remain inactive or go over your storage quota for 2 years or longer, all of your emails may be deleted.
- Google Drive: You won’t be able to sync or upload new files. You won’t be able to create new files in Google Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drawings, Forms, and Jamboard. Until you reduce your storage usage, neither you nor anyone else can edit or copy your affected files. Syncs between your computer’s Google Drive folder and My Drive will stop.
- Starting June 1, 2021: If you remain inactive or go over your storage quota for 2 years or longer, your content within the affected product(s) may be deleted.
- Google Photos: You won’t be able to upload photos and videos in Original quality. If you want to add any more photos and videos, you can either upload or back up in High quality (lower resolution), or turn off Back up & sync.
- Starting June 1, 2021: You also won’t be able to upload photos and videos in High quality or Express quality if you are out of storage. And if you remain inactive or go over your storage quota for 2 years or longer, all of your photos and videos may be deleted.
To cancel a plan:
- Go to www.google.com/settings/storage.
- Sign into the Google Account where you purchased storage.
- Under your plan, click Cancel.
- Review changes to storage that will take place after cancellation. Confirm by clicking Cancel plan.
- You’ll receive a confirmation email of your subscription cancellation. On the start of the next month of your plan, you’ll be downgraded to the free storage levels for Google Drive, Google Photos, and Gmail.