Sample Complaint Templates and Letters

You can copy directly from the samples below. A completed example is shown below each template. If you’re drafting a complaint on a social media site, there may be limitations on the number of characters….cut to the chase. Review the sections on ‘Effective Complaining‘ and ‘Negotiation Tips‘ before sending your complaint.

Whenever possible remove personal names and keep the complaint related to the business rather than a person(s). At some point during the resolution process, names may be necessary to get to the root cause or desired result. If you’re sending an email, consider carbon copying (cc:) related consumer groups, boards, agencies, etc. If you’re considering legal action, you may want to consult with an attorney before sending the complaint letter.

Sample Template 1

Your Address
Your City, State, Zip Code
(Your e-mail if sending via e-mail)

Date

Name of Contact Person (if available)
Title (if available)
Company Name
Consumer Complaint Division (if you have no specific contact)
Street Address
City, State, Zip Code

Dear (Contact Person or Organization Name):

Re: (account number, if applicable)

On (date), I (bought, leased, rented, or had repaired) a (name of the product, with serial or model number or service performed) at (location, date and other important details of the transaction).

Unfortunately, your product (or service) has not performed well (or the service was inadequate) because (state the problem). I am disappointed because (explain the problem such as damaged product, product does not work properly, wrong item, the service was not performed correctly, rude staff, billed incorrect amount, something was not disclosed clearly or was misrepresented, etc.).

To resolve the problem, I would appreciate your (state the specific action you want (such as money back including taxes, credit card credit, repair, exchange, etc.) Enclosed are copies (do not send originals) of my records (include receipts, chat logs, emails, guarantees, warranties, canceled checks, contracts, model and serial numbers, and any other documents).

I look forward to your reply and a resolution to my problem and will wait until (set a time limit) before seeking help from a consumer protection agency or the Better Business Bureau.

Please contact me at the above address or by phone at (home and/or office numbers with area code).

Sincerely,

 

Your name

Enclosure(s)

Example using Template 1

5555 Example Drive
Your City, State, Zip Code
youremailaddress@example.com

November 22, 2021

Name of Contact Person (if available) 
Title (if available)
Company Name
Consumer Complaint Division
Street Address
City, State, Zip Code

Dear Company ABC (or person):

On November 11, 2021, I purchased a refrigerator, washer, and dryer. The refrigerator arrived with a damaged lower drawer and two dents on the front of the stainless steel doors. The model number is 123XYZ and SN is 987ABC. l purchased the items at your location in Example Heights.

The customer service department has informed me that there is nothing they can do about it since the item was tested and certified before it shipped out and that I signed off on accepting the items upon delivery. 

Unfortunately, I did not notice the defects at that the time of receipt. I was unable to test every feature and the dents were difficult to notice right away. Although I did not purchase warranty or damage protection, I feel this is a problem that is not my fault and should be remedied by your company. 

To resolve the problem, I would appreciate a complete refund, including taxes, or a new replacement refrigerator delivered at your cost. Enclosed are copies of my receipt, pictures, and other related documents and notes from phone conversations with the store at Example Heights. 

I look forward to your reply and a resolution to my problem and will wait until December 15, 2021 before seeking help from a consumer protection agency or Better Business Bureau. Please contact me at the above address, email address, or by phone at XXX-XXX-XXX. 

 

Sincerely,

Your Name

 

Sample Template 2

111 Example Drive, Example City, CA 55555

March 20, 2019

Name of Contact Person (if available) 
Title (if available)
Company Name
Consumer Complaint Division
Street Address
City, State, Zip Code

Dear Company ABC (or person)

Re: Account Number 987123

I am writing to express my dissatisfaction with the service on my vehicle that was done at your shop on (date or could be multiple occasion) at your store located at (address).

I paid for a (explain the item(s) and/or service). the problem was fixed. I took the car for a brief test drive with the mechanic after the repairs and the rattling sound was gone. However, the same noise came back on March 18th, 2020. 

I spoke to such and such (list departments or any details on discussions that have already taken place) on (include dates and other specifics) and (they said this or have done this. Explain what has already been attempted to remedy your problem and consider disclosing other inconveniences and costs the ongoing issue has created). 

I’d expect a better effort to resolution to the problem. To resolve the issue, I would like you to try to fix it again or refund the full amount that I paid including tax and surcharges (clearly explain the remedies that would work for you). 

The record of my purchase is on receipt number 123. I’ve attached a copy here of the receipt and conversations/notes with your staff.

I’ve been a loyal customer for several years and I’ve never had any issues with your service. I’ve gone as far as recommending your company to others. I continue to hold confidence that you’ll make this right (show optimism that you believe they can solve the problem for you).

I look forward to your reply. Please contact me at the address above or by telephone at (555) 555-5555 by the end of next week.

Sincerely,

Your Name

Example using Template 2

111 Example Drive, Example City, CA 55555

March 20, 2019

Mr. John Doe 
General Manager
Car Repairs & More
5555 Example Dr.
Example City, CA, 55555

Dear Mr. Doe

Re: Account Number 987123

I am writing to express my dissatisfaction with the service on my vehicle that was done at your shop on March 10, 2019, at your store located at 5555 Example Drive.

I paid for a diagnosis and repair of the rattling noise.  I did think the problem was fixed. I took the car for a brief test drive with the mechanic after the repairs and the rattling sound was gone. However, the same noise came back on March 18th, 2020. 

I spoke to John Doe on March 19, 2019 and he ask that bring in the car. I took a vacation day from work to bring the car into your shop the next day. A few people briefly looked it over and told me there was nothing more they could do and the sound must be from a new source. 

I’d expect a better effort to resolution to the problem. I expect that you’ll take my word that this is the exact same noise as before. To resolve the issue, I would like you to try to fix it again or refund the full amount that I paid including tax and surcharges. Dealing with this has already caused meaningful inconveniences for me. 

I’ve been a loyal customer for several years and I’ve never had any issues with your service. I’ve gone as far as recommending your company to others. I continue to hold confidence that you’ll make this right.

I look forward to your reply. Please contact me at the address above or by telephone at (555) 555-5555 by the end of next week.

Sincerely,

Your Name

Are you a Seller on Ebay?

A small change in selling strategies can make a sizable difference in income…both good and bad.

A few common places to file almost any type of complaint

  • Federal Trade Commission
  • Better Business Bureau
  • Local Consumer Groups
  • Trade Unions
  • State Agencies/Boards
  • Company website (there may be more than one if there is a hierarchy of ownership, such as a parent company to a subsidiary)
  • Company social media sites  (i.e. Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn, YouTube, WeChat, Reddit)
  • Rating review sites (i.e. HomeAdvisor, Thumbtack, Airbnb, Travelocity, TripAdvisor, Indeed, Google, Glassdoor)
  • Other possible sites: Quora, Yahoo Answers

Downpayments

Tax Exemptions

Effective Complaining